Why I’m Excited For Playstation All-Stars

In a completely shocking turn of events, Sony has taken another idea from Nintendo.  Ok, so maybe sarcasm doesn’t translate online, but you get my point.  PlayStation All-Stars: Battle Royale is a four player fighting game featuring the PlayStation characters we all know and love.  Sound like a certain Nintendo franchise?  Well, in the basic concept All-Stars and Smash Bros games are pretty much identical twins, but that doesn’t mean that All-Stars doesn’t have something new and creative to offer.

Image Courtesy of Sony Computer Entertainment

If you asked me about the first video games I played, I would tell you about playing Mario on the N64, or Pokémon on my Game Boy, or Smash Bros on my Gamecube.  Yes, Smash Bros was incredibly popular when I was a kid.  But, thing is, I’m not a little kid anymore.  I have less interest in Pikachu and Mario.  There will still be a special place in my mind for them.  My tastes have just developed immensely since then.

So, you could imagine my surprise when Sony announces a Smash Bros. style fighter with their own characters.  I could play as Cole or Nathan Drake or a Big Daddy and beat up Fat Princess or Sweet Tooth.  Yes, Sony took the idea right from Nintendo’s collective brains, but it’s more mature and has a much different demographic.  That’s why I have so much faith in All-Stars.  It isn’t 100% new, but Sony focused All-Stars’ content on another age group altogether.

The characters are cool.  As I’ve already mentioned, Cole from inFamous, Nathan Drake from Uncharted, the Big Daffy from BioShock, the Fat Princess from Fat Princess, and Sweet Tooth from Twisted Metal all make appearances.  The list doesn’t end there.  Colonel Radec from Killzone, Kratos from God of War, japanese Sony mascot Toro Inoue, Sly Cooper, PaRappa from PaRappa the Rapper, Jak and Daxter, and Tekken’s Heihachi Mishima have all been announced as official characters.  Rumors of Gravity Rush’s Kat and Ico’s Yorda have appeared on the internet from blurry screenshots.  I’m hoping Sony increases the roster a bit before the release in October.

Image Courtesy of Sony Computer Entertainment

All-Stars will also be releasing on the PlayStation Vita, so you can experience the game in its entirety on the go.  I’m really excited to play this game on my Vita, considering Marvel vs Capcom 3 was the only fighting game on vita that I had any interest in.  All-Stars isn’t a new experience, but it brings the traditional Smash Bros. experience to an older, more hardcore demographic.  PlayStation All-Stars: Battle Royale will launch October 23rd in the United States.

